SportUnique Article

FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners Since 1966

  • The FIFA senior men’s World Cup comes up once every four years
  • Brazilian football legend, Pele, is the only to have won the tournament on three different occasions, namely in 1958, 1962 and 1970

The FIFA World Cup started in 1930, with South American country, Uruguay winning the first edition.

In 1930, there was no award like Golden Ball, until 1966, when England hosted and won the tournament.

READ THIS TOO: Current Top 10 Highest Goalscorers In Europe’s 5 Big Leagues

England’s World Cup winning striker in 1966, Bobby Charlton was the first Golden Ball winner.

The Golden Ball is awarded to the best player of the FIFA World Cup tournament.

World Cup Golden Ball winners as presented by Goal:

1966: Bobby Charlton
1970: Pelé
1974: Johan Cruyff
1978: Mario Kempes
1982: Paolo Rossi
1986: Maradona
1990: Salvatore Schillaci
1994: Romario
1998: Ronaldo
2002: Oliver Kahn
2006: Zidane
2010: Diego Forlán
2014: Lionel Messi
2018: Luka Modric

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button