Painful: Victor Moses Snubbed By CAF In Final 3-Man List For African Best Footballer

Nigerian playmaker, Victor Moses was not considered as names of the final top three players shortlisted for the 2017 Aiteo/CAF Player of the Year award to hold on Monday at the Movenpic Hotel in Accra, Ghana.

The final shortlisted three are, Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, French-born Gabonese Borussia Dortmund forward, Piere-Emerick Aubameyang and Senegalese winger, Sadio Mane in race for the Africa’s top diadem.

Likewise, in the race for the CAF Coach of the year award, Nigeria’s Super Eagles technical adviser, Gernot Rohr has been listed alongside Egyptian national team coach, Hector Cuper and Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca manager,  Hussein Ammouta for helping his club win the 2017 CAF Champions League trophy.

In the same vein, Super Falcons striker, Asisat Oshoala also made the top three final shortlist for the CAF Women’s player of the year award. The Dalian Quanjian FC of China striker was listed alongside South Africa’s Christina Kgatlana and Indomitable Lionesses of Cameroon forward Gabrielle Onguéné.

Nigeria’s male football team has been listed to compete with the Pharaohs of Egypt and the Indomitable Lions of Cameroon for the National Team of the Year, while Nigeria’s U-20 Women national team, the Falconets are also in race for the Women’s National Team of the Year award, including Ghana U-20 Women’s national team and South Africa’s Bayana Bayana respectively.

Victor Moses of Nigeria and Chelsea FC
Victor Moses of Nigeria and Chelsea FC

Dignitaries present in Accra, Ghana for the event include CAF President Mr Ahmad Ahmad and other top officials. The winner of the Aiteo/CAF Awards are expected to be named January 4 in Ghana.

Player of Year Shortlist

Mohamed Salah

Piere-Emerick Aubameyang

Sadio Mane

Coach of the Year

Gernot Rohr

Hector Cuper

Hussein Ammouta

Women’s Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala

Christina Kgatlana

Gabrielle Onguéné

National Team of the Year

Super Eagles (Nigeria)



Women’s National Team of the Year

Ghana U-20

Nigeria U-20

South Africa

Club of the Year

Al Ahly

TP Mazembe

Wydad Athletic Club

Youth Player of the Year

Krepin Diatta

Patson Daka

Salam Giddou




Sahara Sports



Facebook Comments
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *